[TUTORIAL]Baking Specular in Blender - SLUniverse Forums
Navigation » SLUniverse Forums > Development Discussion and Support > Tutorials » [TUTORIAL]Baking Specular in Blender

Tutorials A place to share tutorials for content creation and virtual world usage.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Jack of a few Trades

Happles!

My Mood:
SL Join Date: 14/10/2006
Business: MagoTek Industries
[TUTORIAL]Baking Specular in Blender

This is something I've written before, but it was buried within another thread, and I've had problems finding it again when I wanted to show people. So I'm reposting it here, mostly for my convenience in linking people to it. But I hope others find it useful too. I wrote this tutorial from scratch, didn't copy it from anywhere.

This is a tutorial on how to bake specular onto a flat texture, in blender. It assumes basic knowledge of blender, so it's not for complete novices. There are other tutorials for basic things.

Specular is the white highlighting that you get when light reflects from a shiny surface. It's an effect that usually only exists in realtime rendering, as it depends on the point of view. Baking it permanantly into a texture can still have quite a striking effect, even if not technically correct. And often looks better than what the pitiful shininess option in SL can produce.

---------------------------------

When I started with blender, I was annoyed at the lack of this functionality.

Turns out, this functionality is already there. It's just so hidden and convoluted that everyone on blenderartists didn't even seem to be aware of it's existence, and gave me all sorts of other even more convoluted and useless suggestions as to how to work around this lack (of a feature that actually is there)

Anyways, It requires material nodes.. The nodes basically work kind of like layers in photoshop, only a bit less simple.