Constant Refreshing? - SLUniverse Forums
Navigation » SLUniverse Forums > Virtual World Discussion > General SL Discussion » Constant Refreshing?

General SL Discussion Discuss topics related to Second Life

Sponsor:
Steampunk Victorian Caledon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2013, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

*SLU Supporter*

In need of a new avatar

Constant Refreshing?

Is anyone else having issues where the sim seems to be constantly refreshing - things seem to be in a loop where they one by one go fuzzy and then focus again. I thought I was the only one, but someone standing next to me just noticed the same thing.

I have an obscenely good video card and my computer doesn't seem at all taxed. Is this something to do with server side baking? Is there any way to avoid it? Anyone?
Eunoli Rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)

My Mood:
Client: v3
The viewer seems to have recently been changed so it wont keep too many textures in memory at full resolution. If you are seeing textures go blurry and come back after camming around its probably due to there being waayy too many high resolution textures. Content creators commonly use oversized textures so that you can see detail if you look closely at objects and unfortunately materials will make this issue worse by tripling the amount of textures. (I have seen the texture deloading thing happen with certain materials enhanced skyboxes already)
ac14hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 02:10 AM   #3 (permalink)

*SLU Supporter*

In need of a new avatar

I don't have to cam for it to happen. Even standing on a street without that many textures in sight its happening.
1 User Agreed:
Old 08-14-2013, 09:49 AM   #4 (permalink)

*Sigh*

My Mood:
Thank you for mentioning this!
I've had it happen pretty much constantly over the last week.