| |
| General SL Discussion Discuss topics related to Second Life |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| The Rainbow Girl ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
One last Latex Doll.
| How to stop zF RedZone [Updated 7 Mar] I post this here separately from the other too long thread as this is important information and a much better way than disabling/enabling streaming media all the time. Thanks to no2redzone there is supposedly a simple way to prevent zF RedZone from collecting your data. Add the following entries to your hosts file Code: 127.0.0.1 isellsl.ath.cx 127.0.0.1 isellsl.com 127.0.0.1 zfire.isellsl.com 127.0.0.1 girlsofthevip.com 127.0.0.1 hamlinpro.com 127.0.0.1 syscast.net 127.0.0.1 media.syscast.net 127.0.0.1 apache2-blow.port-au-prince.dreamhost.com 127.0.0.1 quickware.net 127.0.0.1 www.quickware.net 127.0.0.1 quickware.zapto.org 127.0.0.1 wh0.zapto.org 127.0.0.1 m.sparkgap.info 127.0.0.1 policedepartmentonsl.info 127.0.0.1 sparrowindustries.net WinXP - Win7: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts Linux: /etc/hosts MacOS: /private/etc/hosts (to edit the file you need admin rights) Working hosts file for Windows (just download and replace the existing one): hosts What it does is preventing the DNS (domain name service) resolution of that website, assign your localhost IP (127.0.0.1) to it and keep everything that it wants to send to this site on your own PC. His main site is using a free DNS service (ath.cx) and can be changed at anytime. So this may not prevent spying on you in future releases. But it should kill RedZone for now. Also he started redirecting traffic to the .com. Not sure if . But they are hosted at the same IP (76.104.212.177) that points directly to Redzone.The anonymously registered domains/URLs syscast.net, media.syscast.net and apache2-blow.port-au-prince.dreamhost.com were supposedly used by CDS. They may not be needed anymore. m.sparkgap.info is policedepartmentonsl.info appears to be another data collector hidden behind Redzone and tons of popups. sparrowindustries.net is used by another CDS / Redzone copycat product that works the same way, and is blocked the same way. How to block Quickware? The newcomer on the block, not much information seems to be available other than the tool does the same as RedZone, supposedly it scans residents, puts them into a database and correlates data to identify alts. Same story, ToS violation. Quickware is hosted in the Netherlands, with a number of domains linking to one IP: 193.93.174.118. So to block this spyware you should add this IP to your firewall blocks. Adding quickware.net, quickware.zapto.org and wh0.zapto.org to the hosts file may not be sufficient here. The relevant section is added to the list above. WARNING: Greenzone is not always able to detect Redzone, especially the latest versions. As it appears Greenzone also runs their own nasty little database, the very same way as Redzone. So colors do not matter. Just stay away from any people creating zones for whatever: ZF Redzone, Disclosure of SecondLife Alts. Last edited by Boy Lane; 03-07-2011 at 10:45 AM. Reason: added www.quickware.net to play safe |
| | |
| 5 Users Said Yay!: |
| 7 Users Hugged You: |
| 6 Users Like This: |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| The Rainbow Girl ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
One last Latex Doll.
| One more thing to mention, this will of course also block access to the RedZone website/forum. If someone wants to go there anyway Last edited by Boy Lane; 02-13-2011 at 03:35 AM. Reason: clarified/added "RedZone" |
| | |
| 2 Users Laughed: |
| 1 User Agreed: |
| | #6 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() *SLU Supporter* ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Australia
Posts: 9,056
SL Join Date: 12-Oct-2003 Client: Viewer 3 Blog Entries: 4 | Quote:
https://webcache.googleusercontent.c...www.google.com
__________________ | |
| | |
| 6 Users Said Thanks : |
| | #7 (permalink) | |
| The Rainbow Girl ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
One last Latex Doll.
| Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() *SLU Supporter* ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Australia
Posts: 9,056
SL Join Date: 12-Oct-2003 Client: Viewer 3 Blog Entries: 4 | Quote:
| |
| | |
| 2 Users Laughed: |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| The Purple ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
Kinda at work. Somewhat.
Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Somewhere purple, Germany
Posts: 6,682
My Mood: SL Join Date: 20. January 2007 Client: NaCl | What's to note is that the .com address is merely forwarding to isellsl.ath.cx on HTTP connect, not directly pointing at the IP. isellsl.com itself is hosted at hosting24.com. I am amused how the owner of a '6000 dollar server' that needs ro be 'upgraded' because of RedZone's workload (...at a home comcast address...) is now going for the full 7 dollar per month deluxe webhosting plans here.
__________________ "Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?" - George Carlin |
| | |
| 2 Users Agreed: |
| | #13 (permalink) | |
| The Purple ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
Kinda at work. Somewhat.
Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Somewhere purple, Germany
Posts: 6,682
My Mood: SL Join Date: 20. January 2007 Client: NaCl | Quote:
Either way he loses with his comment. :3 Ain't it grand? | |
| | |
| 1 User Laughed: |
| 5 Users Agreed: |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Senior Member ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2010 Location: USA
Posts: 493
My Mood: SL Join Date: 7/12/2009 Client: Phoenix | So the price is the spec? Customer: "Excuse me, is this server any good?" Salesman: "Good? Why it's $6000!"
__________________ |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) | ||
| The Purple ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
Kinda at work. Somewhat.
Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Somewhere purple, Germany
Posts: 6,682
My Mood: SL Join Date: 20. January 2007 Client: NaCl | P.s. lol 'wind storm': Quote:
Quote:
| ||
| | |
| 6 Users Laughed: |
| 1 User Agreed: |
| | #17 (permalink) | |
| Nasty Brit ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
Rather more than just a pretty
face
| Quote:
__________________ | |
| | |
| 1 User Said Thanks: |
| | #18 (permalink) | |
| Somewhat lurkerish ![]() ![]() ![]()
*rawr*
Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Planet Mall
Posts: 2,240
SL Join Date: 2007ish someday
Business: B5IV Roleplay Client: Whatever provides the best options | Quote:
__________________ | |
| | |
| 4 Users Laughed: |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| jraffnapped ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() *SLU Supporter* ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Halp! | |
| | |
| 1 User Said Yay!: |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| syncing with reality ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
splitting infinitives and
dealing with rogue apostrophes
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,590
My Mood: SL Join Date: a while ago
Business: Satiated Desires Blog Entries: 1 | Is this anything like when guys tell me that this |---------------------------------------| is 6 inches?
__________________ |
| | |
| 8 Users Laughed: |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| jraffnapped ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() *SLU Supporter* ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Halp! | What about putting these in your hosts file instead? Code: 127.0.0.1 girlsofthevip.com 127.0.0.1 www.girlsofthevip.com 127.0.0.1 isellsl.ath.cx 127.0.0.1 www.isellsl.ath.cx 127.0.0.1 isellsl.com 127.0.0.1 www.isellsl.com |
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) |
| The Rainbow Girl ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
One last Latex Doll.
| Added girlsofthevip.com in the first posting. The www should not be necessary. But if you're really paranoid .I assume he will try to set up more addresses anyway, so these need to be monitored and updated. Last edited by Boy Lane; 02-14-2011 at 09:35 AM. |
| | |
| 3 Users Agreed: |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
| |