Second Life: The Bandwidth Hog - SLUniverse Forums
Navigation » SLUniverse Forums > Virtual World Discussion > General SL Discussion » Second Life: The Bandwidth Hog

General SL Discussion Discuss topics related to Second Life

Sponsor:
Steampunk Victorian Caledon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2007, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Second Life: The Bandwidth Hog

Hi there all!

I'm quite new to second life, and so far, i'm loving it! However I noticed a disturbing fact. The day after I had explored the world of second life, I logged onto my ISP's main site to check my bandwidth useage, and I was shocked that out of my 10G that I have for monthly usegage (yes I have high speed), I had used nearly 3Gigs already! And this is just after roughly 8 or so hours online! I had to stop, because if I went any further, my ISP would end up charging me 3$ for every additional Gig that I downloaded over 10!

I called up the Second Life support and they weren't very helpful. When I asked roughly how much bandwidth useage I should have for second life, he reccomended an "unlimited amount".

I did some research, and found that... NO ISP provides this service.

So i pose the question to you...

I am upgrading my internet plan so I am able to download 60gigs a month and be charged 2$ for every additional gig... is this good enough?
adriusren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lustful Cockmonster

*SLU Supporter*

Unedited

My Mood:
SL Join Date: October 2004
I'm guessing you aren't in the US.

Not that this helps but I don't know how anybody uses the internet in countries with bandwidth limits.
Joshua Nightshade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
exp(ln(Gearhead))

My Mood:
SL Join Date: March 28, 2006
Business: Aodhan's Forge