Maya, 3ds Max, Cinema 4D - which one? - SLUniverse Forums
Navigation » SLUniverse Forums > Development Discussion and Support > Content Creation » Maya, 3ds Max, Cinema 4D - which one?

Content Creation Discuss building, scripting, and other forms of content creation for SL.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2012, 09:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Charlie's Angel

*SLU Supporter*

building <3

My Mood:
SL Join Date: 21 Sep 2006
Business: Scarlet Creative
Maya, 3ds Max, Cinema 4D - which one?

Hi,

I am due to upgrade my Cinema 4D to R13. But as I have been doing more with SL with it I wondered if it is worth now going for Maya or 3ds Max for an more efficient SL pipeline/workflow. As my knowledge is pretty limited on 3ds Max and Maya I have some working knowledge - I wanted to get people's opinion on which application they prefer for SL specific work. It's a huge amount of money which I have saved up so feeling rather nervous on which option to select. The upgrade is cheaper but I need something sustainable for SL as I intend to be doing SL content for the mid-term at least.

I love everything about Cinema 4D for non SL work as a side matter.

The core issue I seem to have with C4D is baking textures for the SL part. I have been doing a workflow of creating the unw map for the object (some scenes have multi objects) baking texture first for shadows, then illumiance and colour etc. Faking the GI aspect in addition with those as the baker doesn't support GI. Taking each layer then combining in Photoshop - tweaking like crazy, then back to Cinema 4D replacing it in the colour channel for the final texture for upload via Collada. I create one model with shadows and one with out so people in SL with shadows enabled can switch the texture with a script. (So I do a second load of the textures for that aspect).